Gewoon een favoriet nummer

The Fray – How to Save a Life

Step one you say “we need to talk”
He walks, you say “sit down, it’s just a talk”
He smiles politely back at you
You stare politely right on through
Some sort of window to your right
As he goes left and you stay right
Between the lines of fear and blame
You begin to wonder why you came

Where did I go wrong? I lost a friend
Somewhere along in the bitterness
And I would have stayed up with you all night
Had I known how to save a life

Let him know that you know best
‘Cause after all you do know best
Try to slip past his defence
Without granting innocence
Lay down a list of what is wrong
The things you’ve told him all along
Pray to god he hears you
And I pray to god he hears you

As he begins to raise his voice
You lower yours and grant him one last choice
“Drive until you lose the road
Or break with the ones you’ve followed”
He will do one of two things
He will admit to everything
Or he’ll say he’s just not the same
And you’ll begin to wonder why you came

13 Reacties op “Gewoon een favoriet nummer

  1. Ik weet niet hoelang jij wilt proberen elke dag een liedje in mijn hoofd te krijgen, maar tot nu toe is het je gelukt en vind ik het niet erg. :)

  2. Dit is nog steeds een van mijn favoriete nummers, heerlijk. Ik snap alleen nog steeds niet waar de zin ‘how to save a life’ vandaan komt. Hij lijkt er net ingeplakt. Kan iemand me dit uitleggen?

    • Het gaat over iemand redden. Ik meende dat de zanger ooit eens hielp bij een zomerkamp voor probleemjongeren en daar toen dit nummer op gebaseerd heeft. ‘How to save a life’ slaat dus op het leven van die kinderen, dat vol problemen zit en beter moet worden. (Geloof ik)
      Als je het nummer luistert met dat verhaal in je achterhoofd klinkt het opeens heel anders.

Wil je reageren? Dat kan hieronder!

